Profile Last Updated: Jan 19, 2021
About Us
The Country Farm Museum began from an old barn that housed part of a forty year collection of farm antiquity. The expansion continued into a tobacco warehouse built in 1966. Maxie Williamson, the collector, built new sections beginning in 1990 that included a memorabilia room and kitchen. The dining hall was added in 1999. Growth continues today to accommodate the vast museum collection. Today, the museum site has three distinctive buildings and two open shelters. The oldest barn where the collection was first stored, dating back to 1890, is currently expanding to include a large shelter to park restored tractors. The second and largest building includes two kitchens with household objects that show how pioneers stored and cooked their food, a dining facility seating 125 people, a small room of antique toys and tobacciana, and the largest section stores pedal tractors and farm implements. The third building has a front porch decorated with memorabilia that finds its likeness from an old country store. The porch reveals how many farmers spent leisure hours. Another section is the antique tractor restoration room. This room provides a place for visitors to see the transformation and restoration process of an antique tractor. The remainder of this building is used to store the John Deere thirty series of two cylinder tractors that is one of the most prized collections of the museum.